OMMS - On Map Military Strategy


Q. When I'm measuring how far my unit can move, do I measure from the edge of the coin, or the centre or what?
A. The standard method of measurement in OMMS is to measure from the edge of the coin furthest from the destination, and place the coin so that its edge touches the top of the card. This way, the unit has moved exactly one card's length or breadth.

Q. If I have more than one unit together with equal defence values, and my opponent attacks them, do I choose who defends or does my opponent?
A. It is up to the defending player which unit does the defending, although the unit with the highest defence value takes precedence. A common tactic is to 'join' two units together by placing one coin on another. For example, placing an Invader on a Guard forms a 'unit' with attack and defence 2 (often called a Gader) - the Guard defending the more vulnerable Invader. Obviously, if this is attacked and defeated, only the Guard is destroyed, leaving the Invader (called splitting the Gader). If you are playing the Tank rules, it's often wise to defend your precious tank with a Guard (forming what is called by Ommers a Guarded Tank).

Q. Officially, who should place their base and have their turn first?
A. In the tradition of true great British games, the youngest player should go first.

Q. When we reach the end of the pile, what should we do? Is it the end of the game?
A. No. The game ends when the last player is defeated. Shuffle the discarded cards, turn them over and continue.

Q. If I'm using resource cards at half value as a different suit, and I have two odd numbers, do I halve them individually, or can I add them and then halve them?
A. You can simply halve the total. Thus, if you have a 3 and 5 of diamonds, this is worth 4 hearts/clubs/spades, not 3. We're not monsters!

Q. I'm moving a scout cross-country, but there is a small gap I want to fit through, between an enemy settlement and one of his units. The gap is not wide enough to fit a 5p through. Can I still move it?
A. So long as there is a gap, you can move a scout through it. This also applies to small peninsulas that are smaller than a unit - although the edges of the coin are in the sea, it can still move along the peninsula. The only way to block a scout from moving is to line units up together so they are touching, and there is no way past them.